The Governing Body at Mattersey Primary School is responsible for:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the Head Teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure it is money well spent.


The Governing Body at Mattersey Primary School is determined by an Instrument of Government and re-constituted (11 March 2015) as per the requirements of The School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations, 2012.  The Governing Body is made up of seven Governors:

2 Parent Governors - elected from the parent body
1 Local Education Authority Governor - appointed by the LEA
2 Staff Governors (including the Head Teacher)
1 Co-Opted Governor - appointed by the Governing Body for specific skills and to represent the community

The current membership of our Governing Body is:

Chair: Mr Chris Bailey
Vice Chair and Parent Governor: Mrs Helen Bell
Parent Governor: Mrs Sharon McDougall

Parent Governor: Miss Billie-Jean Clarricoates-Clarkson
LEA Governor: Vacancy
Co-Opted Governor: Mr Richard Ashcroft
Head Teacher: Mr Paul Higginbottom
Head of School: Miss Kate Corcoran

The key document for anyone interested in the governance of the school or in becoming a governor can be found at:

Work of the Governing Body:
The work of the Governing Body is in the public domain, subject to confidentiality, and all documents are available via the School Office.

Governance is included in the Leadership and Management section of OFSTED's school inspection that was rated 'Good' in November 2017.

If you would like to know more about school inspections carried out by Ofsted, click on the link below:

Ofsted: A Guide for Parents

Governing Body Register of Business Interests at Mattersey Primary School:

Name Governance roles in other schools Any interest declared
Chris Bailey None None
Helen Bell None None
Sharon McDougall None None
Richard Ashcroft None None
Billie-Jean Clarricoates-Clarkson None None
Paul Higginbottom At Everton Primary School None
Kate Corcoran None None